11 December 2020

Phan Thành Nam

Prof. Dr. Phan Thành Nam - LMU München

Phan Thành Nam writing mathematical formulas on a whiteboard in his office at LMU Munich. © Phan Thành Nam

Briefly describe the following: your current position, affiliation, your role within MCQST.

I am a mathematical physicist working on spectral and dynamical problems from many-body quantum systems, including atoms, molecules and Bose gases. Within MCQST, my research is associated to Research Unit A (Quantum Information Theory) and Research Unit F (Quantum Matter) where I will develop theoretical methods for complex quantum systems.

How does a typical workday looks like for you as a mathematician?

In a full working day, I will come to office by 9am and come back home around 5pm. Working from home is also normal. A famous mathematician said, “A mathematician is a device for turning coffee into theorems”. I am not a fan of coffee, so I “produce theorems” by reading a lot of research papers, talking to many colleagues and students, as well as walking often to parks to relax and to develop new ideas. I am lucky, as Munich is a very green city.

What was the biggest challenge you faced so far in your research?